
Over the course of my youth and beyond, I learned about the history of WWII and how the Americans ended the war in Japan, but I confess to not thinking too much more about it. It's easy isn't it, when it's not you and yours that have been affected? I can't not be affected any more because I have seen the museum in Hiroshima dedicated to the A-bomb and its victims. I know with absolute certainty that there must never ever be another nuclear strike, however 'justifiable' the politicians of whichever persuasion claim it to be, and from whichever country they come. I haven't been able to stop seeing the images of the shredded burned clothes, the burns, the shadow on the bank step where someone was just disappeared in the blast. And every piece of evidence shown in the museum had a name associated with it. Usually a young person, a teenager of around the same age of my son. Who were just children, doing their duty (and the Japanese have duty inculcated from the earliest age - it's a no brainer to them) and going about their business helping in the war effort instead of being at school, learning. But it didn't matter whether they were clearing bomb sites or sitting in a classroom. Armageddon was launched on their city with the force of a small sun exploding 600 metres above their homes and 350000 people were affected by this one action. The story would have been the same in Nagasaki too. It must never happen again.
Anyway, I have to balance that by saying that Hiroshima is a lovely small city now. The Peace Park and the A-bomb dome are important, critically important, reminders of why we have to stop nuclear weapons, but they don't overshadow the whole experience of the place, they act as punctuation in this lively city. A reminder and a memorial but not a stick by which to beat the public. One lovely thing that I am completely hooked on here are the streetcars. I've obviously got a latent trainspotter geek somewhere in my psyche, and I want to add 'travel every route of every streetcar from end to end' to my 'travel on every Shinkansen class train' holiday. I've even (oh how sad I hear you cry - get some more sake down you) got some streetcar video porn, but I can't upload it from here, so you'll have to make do with a streetcar photo instead. Phwoarrrr.

Now the streetcars range from really old, vintage style ones (the number 3 line being a particular favourite - one carriage, brown and cream livery and just lovely) to more modern ones mainly I think on the no 2 line from Hiroshima Port to Hiroshima Station, and everything inbetween. They please me immensely and despite Charlie wailing 'please can we get a cab' the answer my dear friends HAD to be non. So we travelled from our hotel in the morning under the JR station to the streetcar terminal. All I would say is that if you ever ask a Japanese person for directions they won't just point and gesture, they'll actually lead you to where you want to be. I like that. Charlie was horrified that I was even asking...
We headed off to the Shukkei-en gardens first of all, whilst we were fresh and I thought there was a chance of getting Cman's assent. The gardens were builit in 1620 by a local lord and were based on the principle of many small vistas being created throughout the gardens. The Americans put paid to the garden in August 1945, but thankfully it was one of those things that the great and the good in Hiroshima decided to reinstate. Autumn isn't quite here yet and the colours that I anticipate and which have only been hinted at around the city are not in their full magnificence. However here are a couple of photos of the garden which give a flavour of colour and style, and if you know me at all, you'll know it made me very happy for an hour or so to be wandering around here...
Once I had had my fill of Koi carp (hundreds of them) and gardenness, we headed off to the Peace Park and the A-bomb dome. I've spoken about them already....
You can see the skeletal dome of the building that still stands as a memorial to the bomb through the memorial.
After ono-giri for lunch ( a set of soup, beef croquettes,pickles and rice wrapped in nori in a hand sized triangle 'pouch' - 2 each thereof - times two people, a matche shake for weird boy and a water for me - and all for about 850 yen - about a fiver...) we set off on the street car (natch) for Miyajima, the island with the 'floating' Tori gate. Now, the weather was stunning, and it was Saturday so one would expect that the world and his wife would be up and at them, but OMG why Miyajima? It's a bit of a way out of downtown Hiroshima, about an hour on the street car (perhaps there are quicker ways of doing it, but who knew?) and once you get there it's tourismo central... You can't take a decent photo of the gate when the tides out because there are people all over the base of it like ants, and you can't well, see or do anything for the sheer volume of people all eating from the stalls in the covered bazaar and deer fondling. Yes. Deer fondling. And the deer (who are clearly in charge) seem to even want to go shopping...

Bless. And the whole island stinks of deer poo. Not the most pleasant aroma on a hot sunny day.... When I come back, I'm going to ensure that I go there when the tide is in and of an evening just to catch the sunset. It would feel a whole load more serene and meaningful I think...
Anyway, we did enjoy Miyajima, but it was a trek and it was a bit insane. Charlie had a beef yakitori from a street vendor (and is still alive, I've checked) and a steamed beef bun 'unique to Miyajima' (and Asiana the oriental supermarket in Notters - perhaps they didn't realise...) and we hopped on the ferry, hopped on a number 2 street car and headed back, footsore and a bit sunned out to the hotel. As we passed confidently (now that we knew where we were going...) through the terminal and under the station, I saw this little beauty hanging nonchalantly on a pole, clearly an official waterin can, and thought 'yep, that just about sums how I feel about Japan up. Nuts and somehow deeply weird, but just lovely....'

Off to Kyoto on Sunday morning. I've decided to be stressed about taking big suitcases on the trains, but hopeful that someone in the history of Japanese tourism has done the same before and we'll be allowed on the train. There ain't a whole load of room for luggage on these sexy trains you know....
Sayonara! I hope you're enjoying my ramblings. I can't wait for a conversation with another living adult who speaks my language. This will have to do for now I guess.....